Woman to marry boyfriend who stood her up 30 years ago


Mandy Ashforth was stood up for a date with Barrie Moat back in 1982. After years of searching for him, she finally tracked him down on Facebook, and now the two are set to get married in summer 2014.Mandy Ashforth (left) and Barrie Moat had a whirlwind romance in 1982. She tracked him down more than 30 years later and now the two are getting married in the summer.

CATERS NEWS AGENCY- Mandy Ashforth (left) and Barrie Moat had a whirlwind romance in 1982. She tracked him down more than 30 years later and now the two are getting married in the summer.

A British woman stood up by her date more than 30 years ago is set to marry him after tracking him down on Facebook. Mandy Ashforth, 48, was left heartbroken in 1982 after her holiday crush Barrie Moat failed to show after the couple agreed to meet following a whirlwind holiday romance. The teenagers had become infatuated with each other after meeting on vacation in northern England.

But the romance ended after the then 19-year-old Moat missed a date. “I arrived to meet Baz in Rotherham bus station and waited two hours, but he never came and I was devastated,” Ashforth told Metro. “In the year that followed, I looked for Barrie Moat in various places in Sheffield but never found him. “The months turned into years and Barrie was always in my mind. I searched for him numerous times, but it always led to a dead end.”

“I have no idea why I didn’t turn up to meet her — I really can’t remember,” Moat, now 50, said. “‘I only joined Facebook to promote my fishing pole repair business and I never normally accept friend requests from women unless they have something to do with fishing.

“For some reason I assumed she was involved with fishing, so I clicked to accept it and within seconds she had sent me a message,” he added. “Things very quickly just clicked into place and we both decided we wanted to be together.”

Ashforth has five children from a previous marriage. The couple will wed next summer.

BY / NEW YORK DAILY NEWS

Leave a Reply

